Hypertrophy apps for iPhone: which one fits how you train
A hypertrophy app has one job: keep adding a little weight or a few reps, set after set and week after week, so your muscles keep getting a reason to grow. Some apps do that by writing a whole program for you. Others take the routine you already run and tell you what to lift next. This page compares six iPhone apps on how they handle progression and what they cost, from each app's own App Store page and website, checked 2 October 2026. This site is run by the people who make SayLift.
Updated October 2026
The short answer
Ranked for lifters who already have a split they like and want the app to handle progression and logging.
- SayLift: keeps your routine and sets your next weight for every lift from what you logged. You log the whole session by voice. $4.17 a month (billed $49.99 a year).
- Alpha Progression: suggests a weight and reps before every set and can generate a plan from your equipment and priorities. $79.99 a year.
- MacroFactor Workouts: generates a program from your goal, schedule and up to 5 focus points, and adjusts weights and reps as you go. $71.99 a year.
- RP Hypertrophy: builds training blocks of up to 8 weeks and adjusts each week from your pump, soreness and workload feedback. $299.99 a year.
- Fitbod: builds each workout from your history and how recovered each muscle is. $79.99 to $95.99 a year.
- Hevy: a log first, with a weekly sets-per-muscle view and a program builder, Hevy Trainer, in Pro. $23.99 a year.
SayLift logs your whole workout from one spoken sentence. iPhone only, 873 exercises built in, 3 days free then $4.17 a month, billed $49.99 a year.
Start the free trialTwo kinds of hypertrophy app
Program generators decide what you do. You answer questions about your goal, equipment and schedule, and the app hands you the exercises, sets and rep ranges. RP Hypertrophy, MacroFactor Workouts and Fitbod work this way, and Alpha Progression can.
Coached logs keep the plan you chose and decide what you lift on it. If you already run a push/pull/legs or a bro split you like, this is the kind that fits. The app reads your last sessions and tells you, lift by lift, whether to go up, stay, or come down.
Both rely on the same thing: an accurate record of every set. An app can only progress what you log, so how fast logging is matters as much as how clever the progression is.
Hypertrophy apps compared
| Writes the program | How weights progress | Deload | Logging a session | Price (US) | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SayLift | No, it follows your routine | Per lift: up, hold, down, from your rep range | Suggested per lift after 3 weeks without progress | Say it out loud, or tap | $4.17/mo billed yearly ($4.17/mo billed yearly ($49.99/yr)), $7.99/mo or $3.99/wk after a 3-day trial |
| Alpha Progression | Yes (Pro) | Weight and reps suggested before each set | You schedule them (Pro) | Tap | $12.99/mo or $79.99/yr |
| MacroFactor Workouts | Yes | Adjusted automatically, RIR-based | Optional, at the start or end of a block | Tap | $11.99/mo or $71.99/yr |
| RP Hypertrophy | Yes, blocks of up to 8 weeks | Weekly, from pump, soreness and workload feedback | Last week of every block | Tap | $34.99/mo or $299.99/yr |
| Fitbod | Yes, each workout | From history and muscle recovery | Not stated | Tap | $12.99 to $15.99/mo; $79.99 to $95.99/yr |
| Hevy | Hevy Trainer, in Pro | Hevy Trainer raises weight from performance | Not stated | Tap | Free tier; $2.99/mo, $23.99/yr, or $74.99 once |
#1 SayLift: your split, coached lift by lift
SayLift is our app. It does not hand you a new program. It takes the routine you already follow, on the Profile tab, and works out what to lift on it each session.
The coach uses double progression, the standard method for muscle growth. Each lift has a rep range, such as 8 to 12, from your routine. Stay at the same weight and add reps until every working set reaches the top of the range, then the coach adds weight: 2.5 kg (5 lb) on upper-body lifts and 5 kg (10 lb) on lower-body lifts. If your reps fall below the bottom of the range, it takes about 7.5% off so you can rebuild. If a lift goes three weeks without progress, it suggests a lighter week for that lift only. The Today page shows every call with the reason, for example "You hit 12 reps at 80, time to go up."
The other difference is logging. You finish training, hold one button and say the session, for example "incline dumbbell press, three sets of ten at 30, then lateral raises, fifteen, twelve and twelve at 10". SayLift writes every exercise, set, rep and weight onto a review screen. You check it and save. Warm-up and drop sets can be marked so they never inflate your records, and you can still log by hand with a rest timer when you prefer.
Pick the Hypertrophy training style and SayLift labels your days by muscle group, such as "Chest & Triceps" or "Back & Biceps". The Progress tab shows volume, streaks, personal records and each lift against its last session. All 873 exercises have instructions and photos and work offline.
#2 Alpha Progression: suggestions before every set
Alpha Progression's plan generator builds a split, exercises, sets and rep ranges from your equipment and the muscles you want to prioritize. Before each set it suggests a weight and reps, and Pro adds periodization and deloads you schedule. Its charts include sets per muscle. Logging is unlimited on the free tier. Pro is $12.99 a month or $79.99 a year, with a 14-day trial on the yearly plan.
#3 MacroFactor Workouts: generated programs with RIR
MacroFactor Workouts generates a program from your goal, days per week, session length, equipment and up to five focus points for priority muscles, then adjusts weights and reps from session to session. You can set reps in reserve per exercise and add an optional deload at the start or end of a block. There is no free tier. It costs $11.99 a month or $71.99 a year after a 7-day trial.
#4 RP Hypertrophy: weekly feedback, premium price
RP Hypertrophy runs you through training blocks of up to eight weeks, the last of which is always a deload. After sessions it asks about pump, soreness and workload, and uses the answers to set the next week's weights and reps. It has 45 or more pre-built templates and supports custom ones.
It is the most expensive app here by a wide margin: $34.99 a month or $299.99 a year, six times SayLift's yearly price.
#5 Fitbod: a new workout every session
Fitbod builds each workout for you from your training history and a recovery estimate for each muscle, shown as a heat map. That suits people who want to be told what to do on the day. It is less suited to running a fixed split you have chosen, because the exercises change as recovery changes. After three free workouts it costs $12.99 to $15.99 a month or $79.99 to $95.99 a year.
#6 Hevy: a log with a weekly muscle view
Hevy is a workout log first. It shows your sets per muscle group each week, and its Pro tier includes Hevy Trainer, which creates programs and raises weight based on how you perform. Pro is $2.99 a month, $23.99 a year or $74.99 once.
How to train for hypertrophy with any app
- Pick a split you can repeat for months. Push/pull/legs, upper/lower or a body-part split all work. Consistency matters more than the label.
- Give every lift a rep range. 6 to 12 is a common hypertrophy range. Lower for big compound lifts, higher for isolation work.
- Add reps before weight. Stay at a weight until every working set reaches the top of the range, then add the smallest jump your gym allows.
- Take sets close to failure. Most working sets should end with one to three reps left in the tank.
- Log every working set. Without the numbers you cannot tell progress from a good day. Mark warm-ups so they do not count.
- Lighten a lift that stalls. Three weeks with no added reps or weight is a common point to take a lighter week.
How to pick
- You have a split you like and want each lift progressed for you, with the fastest logging: SayLift.
- You want a full program generated, with suggestions before every set: Alpha Progression or MacroFactor Workouts.
- You want a new workout built each day: Fitbod.
- You want the lowest price for a basic log: Hevy.
Who SayLift is for
SayLift is for iPhone lifters training for size who already know their split and want two things handled: logging and the next weight. Say the session, check it, save, and the coach tells you which lifts go up next time.
It costs $4.17 a month (billed $49.99 a year), $7.99 a month or $3.99 a week after a 3-day free trial. Get SayLift on the App Store.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best hypertrophy app for iPhone?
It depends on whether you want a program written for you. If you already have a split and want each lift progressed with fast logging, SayLift sets your next weight from your rep range and lets you log a session by voice, for $4.17 a month (billed $49.99 a year). If you want a generated program, Alpha Progression ($79.99 a year) and MacroFactor Workouts ($71.99 a year) build one.
How much does RP Hypertrophy cost?
RP Hypertrophy costs $34.99 a month or $299.99 a year on the US App Store, checked 2 October 2026. It builds training blocks of up to eight weeks and adjusts each week from your feedback on pump, soreness and workload.
Is there a cheaper alternative to RP Hypertrophy?
Yes. SayLift is $4.17 a month (billed $49.99 a year) and progresses each lift in your own routine with double progression, suggesting a lighter week when a lift stalls. Alpha Progression ($79.99 a year) and MacroFactor Workouts ($71.99 a year) generate programs, closer to RP's approach.
What does a hypertrophy app do?
A hypertrophy app tracks your sets, reps and weights and tells you when to add weight or reps so your muscles keep getting more work over time. Some also write the program for you; others, like SayLift, progress the routine you already follow.
Can SayLift build a hypertrophy program?
SayLift follows the routine you set on its Profile tab rather than generating one, and you can paste in a routine you already have as text. Its coach then progresses every lift from your rep range, and the Hypertrophy training style labels your days by muscle group.
What rep range is best for hypertrophy?
A range of about 6 to 12 reps per set is common for muscle growth, with sets taken close to failure. Heavier compound lifts often sit lower in that range and isolation exercises higher. Progress by adding reps until you reach the top of the range, then add weight.
Stop typing between sets
Say what you lifted. SayLift writes down every set, rep and weight, then tells you what to lift next time. iPhone only, 3 days free then $4.17 a month, billed $49.99 a year.
Download on the App StoreReading this on a laptop? Scan to install.